Petanque

Christchurch Club

How pétanque got cool

Supermodel Karolina Kurkova (second left) beside actors Joshua Jackson and Diane Kruger during a game of boules at the Chanel party in St-Tropez in May. Photograph: MaxPPP/PacificCoastNews.com

Forget the image of boules (or pétanque, as it is more properly known) as the game of old men in string vests. Suddenly, it's becoming the height of cool – and not just in France. Read the full article….

Read Guardian Article

All ages - young and old -

Father and son. A great way to have family fun for a couple of hours

We have a few very talented french imports

Competitions

Club and inter-club competitions

Or just social fun

Retired, we have it all

It’s Just a great way to enjoy good company

Drop in and have a go!   It’s always free to try out and have some coaching on - Sunday mornings 10:30


WORK IN PROGRESS - NEW SITE COMING

To contact us call 021 751 088

Location is Hagley Park, entrance of Riccarton Ave, Beside the tennis courts

January 2019
Date Day Event Venue
Jan 19 Sat Arthur Diaper Trophy Papanui
Jan 26 Sat Coventry Trophy Doubles Alexandra
Jan 27 Sun Fun day Alexandra
February
Date Day Event Venue
Feb 2/3 Sat/Sun New Zealand Open Heren Bay
Feb 6 Wed Waitangi Day Boulez Vites … Open to all clubs Christchurch
Feb 10 Sun Club Triples Christchurch
Feb 16/17 Sat/Sun South Island Regional Triples Dunedin City
Feb 24 Sun Shooting competition TBA
March
Date Day Event Venue
March 1 Friday National Women’s Triples Championship Dunedin City
March 2/3 Sat/Sun National Triples Championship Dunedin City
March 7 Thursday Rona Phillips Summer League Christchurch
March 16/17 Sat/Sun Trans Tasman Challenge Newcastle Australia
March 24 Sun Club Mixed Drawn Triples Christchurch
April
Date Day Event Venue
April 14 Sun Canterbury Triples Ashburton
April 19/22 Fri/Sun Australian Open (Easter) Melbourne Australia
April 25 Thursday Firefighters Trophy – Open to all Clubs Christchurch
April 27/28 Sat/Sun National Club Championship Rotorua
May
Date Day Event Venue
May 5 Sun Club Mixed Drawn Doubles Christchurch
May 11/12 Sat/Sun South Canterbury Doubles Timaru
June
Date Day Event Venue
June 3 Monday Queen’s Birthday Event … Open to all clubs Christchurch
June 6 Thursday Rhona Phillips Winter League Christchurch
July
Date Day Event Venue
July 14 Sun Bastille Day Tournament Doubles … Open to all clubs Ashburton
August
Date Day Event Venue
Aug 3 Sat Canterbury Doubles Ashburton
Aug 4 Sun Canterbury Singles Ashburton
Aug 17/18 Sat/Sun Mark Choveaux Triples Caversham
Aug 24/25 Sat/Sun South Island Women’s Triples/SI Mens Triples Caversham
September
Date Day Event Venue
Sept 5 Thursday Rona Phillips Spring League Christchurch
Sept 22 Sun Club Singles Christchurch
Sept 29 Sun Club Doubles Christchurch
October
Date Day Event Venue
Oct 6 Sun Piste of Origin Ashburton
Oct 12 Sat South Island Singles Christchurch
Oct 13 Sun South Island Doubles Christchurch
November
Date Day Event Venue
Nov 1 Sat National Singles Championship Wellington Region
Nov 2 Sun National Doubles Championship Wellington Region
Nov 3 Mon National Mixed Doubles Championship Wellington Region
Nov 23/24 Sat/Sun South Island Senior Doubles Ashburton
December
Date Day Event Venue
Dec 5 Thursday Rona Phillips Day Christchurch
Dec 9 Sun Club Christmas Fun PTNQ, Croquet and BBQ Christchurch
Dec 7/8 Sun National Senior Doubles Hibiscus Coast
Dec 9 Mon PNZ Senior Selection Trials Hibiscus Coast